The Manitoba Junior Hockey League has selected Corey Koop of the Steinbach Pistons as the MJHL recipient of the RBC Junior A Scholarship, MJHL Commissioner Kim Davis announced today. The RBC Junior A Scholarship recipients ─ one from each of the CJHL’s 10 leagues ─ receive $1,000 toward post-secondary education, said Davis. “Corey Koop epitomizes the positive, moving-forward attitude of the MJHL,” said Davis. “He is a committed student athlete. Our league promotes quality on the ice, combined with education. There were a number of excellent applicants for this award.” Koop, 20, has been a key contributor to the Pistons’ run to the Turnbull Trophy – a first-ever for the Steinbach franchise. A graduate of Howe Sound Secondary in Squamish, B.C., Koop plans to attend Briercrest College next fall, studying business. His long-term goals are to become a fire fighter, in addition to pursuing a career as an on-ice official. In addition to being a valued member of the Pistons this season, Koop’s contributions didn’t end at the hockey rink. He has been heavily involved in his home community engaging in volunteer and community activities with many organizations. “Corey’s volunteerism is outstanding,” said Davis. “He organized intramural floor hockey for Grades 8-12, in addition to assisting with scheduling and officiating. He also umpired minor baseball in Squamish, while also being an on-ice official for minor hockey in Squamish.” Previous winners of the RBC Scholarship have been Evan Laye (Selkirk Steelers), Adam Stoykewych (Selkirk Steelers), Steven Shamanski (Dauphin Kings), Eric DeLong (Portage Terriers), Gavin McHale (Portage), Sean Kliewer (Swan Valley) and Bo Storozuk (Swan Valley). Koop is now eligible for the national Junior A RBC Scholarship. The recipient of the $5,000 National RBC Junior A Scholarship will be presented at the 2012 RBC Royal Bank Cup in May.  The winner of the National RBC Junior A Scholarship will be selected by a national panel of Hockey Canada appointed junior hockey representatives. The annual scholarship provides financial assistance to players of the Canadian Junior A Hockey League (CJHL) for their post-secondary education.  Players eligible for the RBC Junior A Scholarship must be a Canadian citizen, on a Canadian Junior A team roster, and registered in or applying for full-time post-secondary studies. Scholarships are awarded on the basis of academic achievements, Junior A success, and community involvement.